Dean's office at the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Kieler Förde

 

Welcome to the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences’ Dean’s Office.

 

The Dean of our faculty is Professor Natascha Oppelt. In managing faculty affairs, he is assisted by First Assistant Dean Professor Dietrich Ober and Second Assistant Dean Professor Axel Scheidig. Professor Oppelt acts as the Dean’s deputy, especially in matters of research. Professor Scheidig, the Dean of Studies (“Studiendekan”), is in charge of everything concerning studies and teaching.

The Dean’s tasks include a wide range of administrative functions according to Article 30 (1) HSG (Law of Universities, in German). As head of the faculty he is responsible for preparing and implementing decisions made by the faculty’s convent. In particular, he decides how to allocate the faculty’s human and material resources. In this capacity, he assigns academic, artistic and other personnel and reports on them to the faculty’s convent. The Dean has to ensure that the faculty meets their teaching and examination obligations. He is also in charge of the teacher-training programme. With regard to this task, he has the authority to assign tasks to the teaching members of staff. This does not affect § 4 of the HSG. The Dean will involve the faculty’s Equal Opportunities Commissioner in all affairs concerning her area of responsibility.

The Dean and both Assistant Deans are elected by the faculty convent. They are selected from among all the professors belonging to the faculty’s convent for the duration of two years. They work on a voluntary basis.

The Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences Dean’s Office is assisted by the managing director Dr. Kathrin Gransitzki and her staff.

 

Our team

 

 

Contact

  Dekanat der
Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät
Address for visitors: Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4
6. floor
24118 Kiel
Postal address: Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel
24098 Kiel
e-Mail: dekanat@mnf.uni-kiel.de

Dekanat der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät

Kieler Förde

Die Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät wird geleitet von dem Dekan Prof. Dr. Frank Kempken. Bei der Führung der Fakultätsgeschäfte wird er durch den ersten Prodekan Prof. Dr. Holger Kersten und den zweiten Prodekan Prof. Dr. Axel Scheidig unterstützt. Der erste Prodekan vertritt den Dekan in allen Angelegenheiten, besonders bei Berufungsverfahren und Habilitationen. Der zweite Prodekan ist der Studiendekan und damit zuständig für alle Angelegenheiten in Bezug auf Studium und Lehre.

Die Aufgaben des Dekans umfassen nach § 30 Absatz 1 des Hochschulgesetzes (HSG) die Leitung des Fachbereichs, d.h. der Fakultät, sowie die Vorbereitung und Ausführung der Beschlüsse des Fachbereichskonvents (= Fakultätskonvent). Sie entscheidet insbesondere über die Verwendung der Personal- und Sachmittel, die dem Fachbereich zugewiesen sind, sowie über den Einsatz der wissenschaftlichen, künstlerischen und sonstigen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Fachbereichs; sie unterrichtet darüber den Fachbereichskonvent. Der Dekan ist verantwortlich für die Sicherstellung des erforderlichen Lehrangebots und für die Studien- und Prüfungsorganisation sowie der schulpraktischen Studien. Hierzu kann sie den zur Lehre verpflichteten Mitgliedern des Fachbereichs Weisungen erteilen. § 4 HSG bleibt unberührt. Der Dekan beteiligt die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte des Fachbereichs bei allen ihren Aufgabenbereich betreffenden Angelegenheiten.

Der Dekan sowie die Prodekane wurden vom Fakultätskonvent aus dem Kreis der ihm angehörenden Professorinnen und Professoren jeweils für die Dauer von zwei Jahren gewählt. Sie üben diese Ämter nebenamtlich aus.

Unterstützt wird der Dekan an der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät durch die Geschäftsführerin Dr. Kathrin Gransitzki sowie mehrere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter im Dekanat.

Unser Team

 

Kontakt

  Dekanat der
Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät
Besuchsadresse: Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4
6. Etage
24118 Kiel
Postadresse: Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel
24098 Kiel
E-Mail: dekanat@mnf.uni-kiel.de