The Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences is divided into eight departments, namely Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Pharmacy, Biology, Geography, Geosciences, and Marine Sciences.

These departments collaborate inter-disciplinarily with many institutions of Kiel University. The Clusters of Excellence “Future Ocean” and “Inflammation at Interfaces” as well as the Graduate School “Human Development in Landscapes” and the research focus “Nano Science and Surface Research” are all based upon research in natural science.